Skip to content

Time To Give Up

January 27, 2014

So the time has come to give up smoking. I have now smoked since I was 15 which equates to 20 years, approximately 36500 cigarettes and about £15k in hard earned cash. In that time, only the odd bout of illness has prevented me from smoking every day. I am not the heaviest of smokers and rarely smoke more than 5 or 6 a day, apart from when I am indulging in an alcoholic beverage, or two.

So why do I want to give up? Well, it’s easy really, I don’t want to be a hypocrite. How can I preach to my children and expect them not to smoke when I smoke myself? I don’t really have an argument. To be honest I don’t smoke in front of them, but that is no excuse to carry on.

When did I decide to give up? It was the 20th December 2013, on the 2nd day of my Christmas holiday in Lanzarote. I bought 200 Benson Silver and declared that these would be the last cigarettes I ever bought or smoked… After smoking my penultimate cig just after my tea about half an hour ago I now have one remaining, which I intend to smoke at approx 7.30am in the morning, stood in the smoking shelter at work with my first coffee of the day.

photo (2)

How do I expect this to go? I haven’t got a clue to be honest. I have never tried to quit before, my excuse always being that I only smoke a minimal amount so never felt the need to give up. A feeble excuse really, but one I have stuck with and convinced myself that I had no reason to pack in this filthy habit. I am hoping that come my birthday in May I will be able to class myself a fully fledged non-smoker and have no urge at all to smoke. I also expect to be the worst ex-smoker ever and complain at everybody who lights up in my company… I will be pleased if I get to this point, extremely!

What do I expect to be the most difficult part of giving up? There are 3 smokes that I enjoy and are like a ritual to me… my first of the day at work with my brew, my post-tea cig in the evening and my numerous smokes with a beer or wine.

Why am I sharing this experience? A few reasons really. Mainly due to the fact that if I have declared it, it makes it harder to go back on. Maybe a bit of moral support. And hopefully encourage others to join in and share their ‘giving up experiences’. So if you feel like joining in please comment and let me know how you are doing.

I am going ‘Cold Turkey’ and using willpower alone as I believe it is mind over matter – if I want to give up I will, and no electronic cigarette, chewing gum or patch is coming anywhere near me.

So my plan is to use this blog as my ‘giving up’ diary and will visit this every day for the foreseeable, until I have no urge to smoke at all, watch this space…!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

